Highly disturbing comment spam

| | Comments (2)

So I got a couple of really disturbing comment spams today.

They went something like this:

IP Address:
Name: John Reed
Email Address: synthia@aol.com
URL: http://weblogs.digital.udk-berlin.de/tim/archives/002117.html


Great post! I'm looking forward for more. port a buayar:
http://www.cosmicbuddha.com/blog/archives/001169.html , <a href="http://anthony.ianniciello.net/blog/archives/000079.html">Fantast

Now normally I would just blacklist such entries and delete the comments without so much as batting an eyelid. Except the look of the urls stopped me. They looked more like ordinary blog entries than spamvertised websites. So I went and had a look at them, and sure enough, they were plain old blog entries, except with comments complaining of the spam. One of them even had a note at the top disclaiming the spam.

I read some of the comments on these links, and there were a few theories as to why these seemingly random pages had been hit. My theory is that someone is trying to poison the usefulness of mt-blacklist and the various blacklist sites. Start poisoning everyone's blogs with each other's so that noone can post anywhere. It's really quite an ominous thought to the openness of the blogosphere :(


Phillbo said:

I had a very similar problem, where comments posted were coming in via trackback referrals.

I think this type of spammng is the is spammer's premiere choice weapon to annoy the rest of us, as the "blame" points to an willing victim, who has participated by being an unwilling proxy.

I've also seen (and had to fix) a few compromised Apache servers, which through an exploit turned to the dark side and sent spam appearing from "reptuable" sources.

But the biggest question of all remains.... would spamming die if everyone (not just 99.9% of people) ignored it?

September 8, 2005 3:45 PM


Gary LaPointe said:

I'm not sure how the search engines work, it may give a higher ranking to the spam since it's on a page being pointed to by lots of pages? Or maybe someone has a grudge against the cosmicbuddha? Very strange.

I'm not sure what it takes to get into Jay Allen's master list for MTBlacklist (I know I've accidentally submitted myself, twice! and I've never showed up yet...

September 9, 2005 2:48 AM


Leave a comment

Kazza's "Boring Life Of a Geek" aka BLOG

IT geek, originally from Sydney, moved to Canberra in 2007. Married to "the sweetie", aka Stu. Prolific photographer, Lego junkie and tropical fish keeper.

Kazza the Blank One home